|Home | About | The Drunkard's Lament  |Communist Trilogy |Short Films | Screenings | Press | Other



BAFICI: Avant-Garde and Genre Official Competition, Buenos Aires, April 2018 (The Drunkard's Lament world premiere)
FidMarseille, France, July 2018 (The Drunkard's Lament)
UnionDocs, Brooklyn, July 22 (The Drunkard's Lament + Branwell BrontŽ's Role-Playing Game)


After the premiere of my new movie The Drunkard's Lament is premiering at BAFICIóBuenos Aires Festival Internacional de Cine Independiente, I have developed a role-playing game to accompany the film called Branwell BrontŽ's Role-Playing Game. We wil be premiering the combo this summer at UnionDocs.

The soundtrack was created by Colleen Burke, who brought together musicians like Jim White (The Dirty Three), Sally Timms (The Mekons), Michael James and Munaf Rayani (Explosions in the Sky) to create this strange revisionist musical. This is the fourth film that Jim Finn and Colleen Burke have collaborated on. The other films Interkosmos, La Trinchera Luminosa del Presidente Gonzalo and Chums from Across the Void have all gone on to have some kind of cult musical status.

We brought back actors from previous films to play the two Cathyís: Isabella Pinheiro from Chums and Nandini Khaund from Interkosmos. Murray Gordon (Heathcliff), a South African philosopher and tech entrepreneur, is acting in his first film though his brother played a minor character in Roman Polanskiís Macbeth. Linda Montano (Hindley Earnshaw) is a seminal performance artist best known for her acupunctured-head video Mitchellís Death and being roped together for a year with Taiwanese performance artist Tehching Hsieh. Jesse Stiles returns to work his sound magic. He teaches at Carnegie Mellon and has worked on projects by the Merce Cunningham Dance Company and The Yes Men. Filmmaker Josh Lewis created the handmade 16mm film emulsion for the project at his artist-run lab in Ridgewood, Queens.

* * * *

Contact: finn.jim@gmail.com | Design by Arthur Jones with a grant from free103point9 and the New York State Council on the Arts